The People in Your Neighborhood: Starlee Kine (Brooklyn Magazine)

Are you pen pals with Phil Collins?
I’m not pen pals with Phil Collins. We definitely emailed afterwards. One of my friends, Jesse Thorn, told me that he was interviewing Phil Collins, and he mentioned me, and Phil Collins said, “Oh yeah, Starlee’s such a nice girl. I get her emails sometimes.” I realized that I’d been sending like—you know, I’ll send mass emails sometimes about “I’m subletting my apartment!” or “Can anyone watch my dog?” and he was on my email list. So every time I did that, he was getting those emails. So he’d said to Jessie, “oh, yeah, she’s subletting her apartment,” not even trying to be funny.

Read More

Leave a Reply

